Sooooooup

Time to actually make a soup post I think. I have been eating some variation on this all winter so far. Warm and cheap and generally nutritious.

So here is what went into this batch.

soupveggie

Carrots- 2 large

Onions-1 and a half

Cabbage-1/3 to 1/2 small head. I usually use 1/4 large head so ended up with more than usual in this batch.

Potato- 1 medium

Blue peas- 2/3 cup dry (these are some southern hemisphere thing as far as I can tell. Just peas, but a bit higher in protein)

Split peas- 2/3 cup dry

Garlic- 6 cloves (you’d think it’s a lot, but the potato absorbs most of the flavor really)

Ginger- 1 small knob sliced up (so precise!). Less if you don’t like crunching on ginger.

Pepper and salt

Rosemary

Lamb neck chops- 3

lambnecksoup

I bought a lot of them because that’s what the store had. Last several weeks of soup were goat based, and sometimes beef, sometimes chicken.

As for the other ingredients I mix up some things, but generally always cabbage, carrots, garlic, onions, potato, ginger. I often make the soup without peas, I tried rice once but it cooked into sludge, and beans don’t work because beans need to be soaked-rinsed-cooked-rinsed otherwise they cause the gas.

Ready to cook for hours (I also add around 3L of water) This is before water in a 5.5L pot. Lotsa veggies.

souptocook

Yum. When done it goes in a giant tupperware box thing and in the fridge. Makes about 7 large bowls full. Glenn wont eat it because he doesn’t like vegetables, so it’s mine…alll mine.

Generally when it is done I need to fish around and debone (and sometimes defat) the meat chunks.


Comments are disabled.